Governing Body


Welcome From the Chair of Governors

The Governing Body of Magdalen College School are proud of our long history of serving the local community and believe that young people learn best in a spirit of partnership between home, school and the wider community. 

The Governors and staff aim for all students to be given every opportunity to realise their aspirations by developing their academic and personal potential in an enriching, stimulating and supportive environment.

We are proud of our school, our students and our community. I look forward to welcoming you to Magdalen College School.

Stuart Dawe

Chair of Governors


The governing body is a combination of appointed, elected and co-opted governors. Our link with Magdalen College Oxford continues today as our appointed foundation governors. Our links with the college go back for several centuries and the college still owns the freehold of the St. John's site in the town centre.

Please click pen portraits to view a short introduction to each governor.

Governors  Committee

The Governors' meetings are held termly. There are regular meetings of Governors' Committees on:

- Finance, Resources and Personnel
- Education & Welfare

To contact the governing body please send communications via the clerk to the governors, Mrs Wendy Willie, by email to:

Magdalen College School is an Academy Trust and is a registered company limited by guarantee.

To view the Register of governors' interest please click Register of interest.

To view the list of meetings attended for the academic year 2016/17 out of the allocated ones, please click Governor attendance.

Membership List

To view the structure and responsibilities please click Governing Body structure.

Chair to the Governors: Mr S Dawe c/o MCS

Clerk to the Governors: Mrs W Willie

Foundation: Dr Antone Martinho, Dr M Pobjoy, Mr T Redman

Community: Mr H Cooper, Mr S Dawe, Dr J Powell, Mrs J Wright

Parents: Mr N Arnold, Mr D Garratt, Mrs A Gomes Dos Santos, Mr C Harte, Dr B Naylor, Mr N Russell

Governor appointed by the members: Mr J Bilson

LEA: Mr C Clapham

Staff: Mr I Colling, Dr N Dixon, Mrs S King, Mr M Roberts

Minutes Full Governor Meetings

22 March 2016
5 July 2016
20 September 2016
8 November 2016 planning meeting
6 December 2016
28 March 2017
2 May 2017 planning meeting
13 June 2017 extraordinary
4 July 2017
26 September 2017
7 November 2017 planning meeting
5 December 2017